Learning in EDU520

2016-05-31-1464729988-1324956-productive_blogging.jpg

So far in EDU520, I have learned a great deal about PLE’s (Professional Learning Enviornments). This blog post is my first encounter with a PLE and so far I am hooked! I am interested in seeing if my blog posts can reach educators outside of my circle at Post University.

Along with PLE’s, I also learned about the blogging experience and what to write about, most notably in chapter 14 of Identify Technologies by Rak and Poletti. Additionally, I learned a little about how to write a blog post, and I am attempting those strategies in this post! Prior to writing this post, I created an outline, as suggested by The article How to Write an Awesome Blog Post in Five Steps. Moreover, this article taught me that I will need to include images in order to make my blog post more interesting. According to Shewan(2016) “Writing for the web is an entirely different animal than writing for print. Oftentimes, people simply don’t have the time, will, or ability to focus on lengthy blog posts without some visual stimulation. Even a well-formatted blog post consisting solely of text is likely to send your reader screaming back to Reddit or Twitter within minutes, which is why it’s so important to include images in your posts.” I did a little research and found an article “20 Sites With Free Images for Your Blog or Social Media Posts” that I think might be helpful for finding some appropriate images for my blog posts. After learning about these topics, I am eager to find my voice through the blogging process. This might mean trying out different styles and topics to write about, and I am ok with that. I believe that practice makes perfect, and I will find the tone that represents me the best through my learning experiences in this course.

A topic I would like to discuss is the concept of online identities. I have researched two important women in the online world of Education and how they create their unique online identity. Their names are Kathy Schrock and Connie Malamed. Both women have created online identities that have shaped the way people look at education. Without their online presence, they may not have been as successful and impressive as they are. You can check out their sites here: http://theelearningcoach.com/about/ and http://www.kathyschrock.net/ Online identities have to be carefully created so that you represent yourself the way you want to be represented. It is especially important to be positive role models for your students and to teach them the importance of portraying yourself as responsible and professional online. They aren’t called Professional Learning Environments for nothing! There are nine elements of digital citizenship that we need to teach our students and we need to use ourselves. These areas are: digital access, commerce, communication, literacy, etiquette, law, right and responsibilities, health and wellness and security (Ribble, 2011).

References

King, L. (n.d) 5 Important Steps to Creating Valuable Content for Your Blog. Retrieved from http://www.huffingtonpost.com/laiza-king-/5-important-steps-to-crea_b_10221708.html

Rak, J., & Poletti, A. (2013). Identity technologies : Constructing the self online. Madison, Wisconsin: University of Wisconsin Press.

Rampton, J. (2015) 20 Sites With Free Images for Your Blog or Social Media Posts. Retrieved from http://www.inc.com/john-rampton/20-sites-with-free-images-for-your-blog-or-social-media-posts.html

Ribble, M. (2011) Digital citizenship in schools. Eugene, Or: International Society of Technology in Education [ISTE].

Shewan, D. (2016) How to Write an Awesome Blog in 5 Steps. WordStream. Retrieved from http://www.wordstream.com/blog/ws/2015/02/09/how-to-write-a-blog-post

UBC Continuing Studies. (2015 June 1). Developing Your Professional Online Identity. Retrieved from [https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9yLzwQs4M_0]

Leave a Reply

